MGB-8 conducted the random operation morning of June 1, 2015, which resulted in the apprehension of three (3) six-wheeler trucks and one (1) 10-wheeler dump truck.

A dump truck bearing plate identification YEN-851 loaded with G-3/4 materials driven by Julius Salazar, a tractor truck with plate no. AKA-4333 loaded with gravel (G-1) driven by Edgar Larga Miñoza, a six-wheeler elf dump truck bearing plate No. MFG-754 loaded with gravel (G-3/4) driven by Efren Requitillo, and a 10-wheeler dump truck bearing improvised plate no. 151005 loaded with quarry materials driven by Basilio Muñez were all apprehended by the MGB-8 Task Force.

The apprehension was largely due to the failure of concerned drivers to present transport document which is the prescribed delivery receipt as required under Republic Act of 7942, otherwise known as the Philippine Mining Act of 1995. Seizure Receipts were then issued on the seized trucks and its load of SAG materials and were temporarily deposited at the MGB-08 for safekeeping pending further investigation.

MGB Task Force Head Engr. Romulo Babatugon noted that during such apprehension and confiscation operations, they found out that the culprit is not on the side of permittees but on some unscrupulous individuals conducting illegal activities.

“This is why we would like to intensify our apprehension efforts through our Task Force on Illegal Mining to strengthen our call to pursue responsible mining and at the same time urge the concerned local government units (LGUs) to uphold and implement what the Local Government Code mandates. That is to strictly enforce environmental protection measures and police the natural resources within their jurisdiction,” stressed Engr. Babatugon.

Hence, the MGB-8 Task Force on Illegal Mining has apprehended a total of 26 more trucks in their succeeding fieldwork particularly in the municipalities of Julita, Burauen, Palo, Tolosa, Tanauan, Pastrana, Dulag within the Province of Leyte from June 2-10, 2015.